Skip to content

This is why, this is why, this is why I’m hot

April 15, 2011

The New York Times tells me letter jackets are cool again or something.  Let me tell you something about letter jackets.  When I was in high school, letter jackets were not reserved for the cool, couldn’t-understand-that-they-were-gay boys.  They weren’t  reserved for those boys’ girlfriends.  They weren’t reserved for football players with 30″ necks who wanted to beat your head into the pavement.  Then again, I went to a rural school with about 240 people total.

You could get a letter jacket as long as you placed 1st through 3rd in any U.I.L. district event.  That means you place 1st, 2nd, or 3rd in anything from poetry recitation to CX debate, calculator skills to spelling & vocabulary to shot put to the 100m dash.  At that point you advance to regionals, and if you place 1st – 3rd there, you advance to state.

For the record, I got to regionals in spelling and vocab and I got second in state at…oh god…headline writing in journalism.  You’re given 6 feature stories and you have to write headlines according to some crazy list of rules.  And that’s how I got my letter jacket.  I then went on to play 3 mediocre years of volleyball where I was singled out because I was a foot taller than everyone else. OMG HIGH SCHOOL I LOVE YOU SO, SO, SO MUCH!!!!!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. sophie permalink
    April 15, 2011 10:29 am

    I got mine for making regionals in french horn solo and ensemble.

  2. April 18, 2011 10:27 am

    I got mine for being in marching band for a couple of years. They were pretty easy to get at my high school.

  3. molly permalink
    April 19, 2011 12:39 pm

    i got a special drill team letter jacket (read: uglier and “feminine”) and then quit drill team.

  4. mondster permalink
    May 31, 2011 10:26 pm

    i went to regionals for headling writing my junior year! hah! we might have very well competed against each other. but i got my letterman for varsity tennis.

Leave a Reply

