Skip to content

Check yoself before you wreck yoself

April 12, 2011

Today we bring you a special guest post from the one and only Molly Washam!!!!!!!! Remember her parents won 1.2 million dollars?!!?! THIS IS HER!


My Gmail account, once lauded as my most prized email account, has become a sad, crowded place. Kind of like New York City. Whereas I used to LOVE that it magically removed unwanted messages from “Penis Growth Promo” and sometimes wanted messages from “Cruises” (real spam waiting to be read right now, ya’ll), it’s now 94% newsletters and email blasts.

EXHIBIT A

You’ll notice from Exhibit A that I read very few. In fact, I have 1,044 unread emails in my inbox, dating back to December 7, 2010, the last of which was asking me to tell about my recent stay at Parisian Hotel in Miami (bienvenido). I know. I travel in style, I’m sorry for rubbing it in your face. If you do the math, that’s like 10 unread newsletters in my inbox every work day. You’ll also notice I’ve read three of these emails, or 16% (I took a statistics class in college).

The one newsletter I always read? Kidzbop. Don’t ask me why I get Kidzbop emails, just know that I do. And I open them. So imagine my delight when I see in my inbox: Spring is here and we’ve got fun activity ideas for your kids! Let’s skip the part where the thought of having children *literally* makes me cringe. What fun activity ideas do they have in mind? Kidzbop thinks it’ll be just awesome if you go somewhere with your kid, and film it. That’s it. To clarify:

1. Go somewhere.
2. Film it.

I thought I’d follow their idea, but even that two step process was too much to execute this weekend. So maybe next weekend, I’ll keep you posted, Woofbuzz readers.

(i won’t really)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 12, 2011 11:58 pm

    this post sounds so wealthy

  2. sophie permalink
    April 14, 2011 3:09 pm

    When I Was Working for Bob (which is the title of my screenplay), he once asked to see my Gmail inbox backstage at a film festival screening in the green room over Michigan champagne and cherry pie (does this sound wealthy also?). I showed it to him and he made me (in front of him) delete every single unread email and archive every single important email until my inbox was empty I AM NOT KIDDING YOU.

    I did it though and I’ve managed to keep a clean inbox, mostly out of irrational fear that another boss will one day ask to see it.

Leave a Reply

