Skip to content

Dance, dance, dance until you die!!!

April 2, 2011

When Loie Fuller’s Chinese dancers enwound
A shining web, a floating ribbon of cloth
It seemed that a dragon of air
Had fallen among dancers, had whirled them round
Or hurried them off on its on furious path;

-W.B. Yeats, Nineteen Hundred and Nineteen (JK, Y’ALL. I DON’T KNOW ANYTHING ABOUT POETRY)

When I was little, because I was once little, I only wanted my mom to buy me dresses based on a criteria I had dubbed “twirlability”.  Maybe I didn’t make this word up when I was little. Who knows? I was a weird, drooly kid. Anyway, I had several dresses that I would put on and spin around and around and around and the skirts would make a cone around me and I felt sorta princess-y but also very dizzy and then I’d probably puke. Side note: my mom told me that when I’d get mad as a toddler, I’d cry and cry and then take a deep breath, hold it, and pass out. Point made, I think.  I guess I lost interest in passing out and and took to twirling, as little girls often do. Had the internet and this online store existed when I was little, I’m positive I would’ve lost my shit and passed out for old time’s sake. Really I just wanted to look like these guys.

Then I (sort of) grew out of that phase and wanted to wear low-rise boot-cut jeans that had no business being on my body.  My dancing became less cute and more awkward and elbow-y (think Gwyneth Paltrow).  Now I fucking own that shit.  I feel like my dancing is less about being sexy and pretty and come-hither and more about being funny and weird and stay-away-guys-I’m-doing-ma-thang.  Until I saw this.

So cool! Loie Fuller was one of the first modern dancers in the world.  This is her doing her thang, filmed by the Lumière brothers, who were among the first filmmakers in the world.  Besides this video’s badassness (hand-colored!), would you just look at the way her dress twirls? It’s twirlability??

This has awakened that sleeping little girl in me who loves to twirl (the one I ate last year JK).  I want a dress that will flutter like this.  I want a dress that changes color!  I want it now! I WANT IT NOW!!!! *passes out*

7 Comments leave one →
  1. christie young permalink*
    April 2, 2011 9:19 pm

    woah that video is so dope. the dress is the dance. the dance is the dress.

  2. christie young permalink*
    April 2, 2011 9:37 pm

    it’s also national poetry month now. so many things i like about this post.

  3. nazanin permalink
    April 3, 2011 9:57 am

    i wish you could see the way my face lit up when i saw this video. kind of like this: http://tinyurl.com/3eydyp9

  4. sophie permalink
    April 4, 2011 3:09 am

    I wish I hadn’t watched the twirly girl video first

  5. Tess permalink
    April 5, 2011 9:47 pm

    I knew Loie. I’m ready to be interviewed when you are.

    sincerely yours,
    Tess Dworman, Twirl B.F.A

Leave a Reply

